Awards & Recognition

Program Overview

One of the World Waterpark Association's goals is to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of industry professionals who are working hard to provide safe, fun water leisure environments for the consumer. To that end, the WWA has created the following awards and recognition programs that all WWA members are encouraged to submit nominations to so that they and their colleagues might be recognized. Download a PDF of prior year award winners.   

Board Award Categories

WWA Board Awards are administered by the Board of Directors. For these awards, the Board works with supplier and park members, as well as members working on WWA Committees to identify and honor worthy recipients for the annual Board Awards slate. These Awards recognize excellence in leadership, safety, innovation, training, etc., and honor people working at various levels within the water leisure industry.Click on the Award title below for more information and to see the recent award recipients. For more information on the Award nomination process visit the Award page on

Wave Review Awards

The WWA's Wave Review Awards seek to honor excellence in marketing. With twelve different entry categories from billboard to email campaign to TV commercial to website, current WWA member facilities may submit their best entries by the deadline each year. Entries are judged by marketing and advertising professionals working outside the water leisure industry and entries are divided by attendance classification so that parks of similar size and budget are competing against each other. There is no entry fee and winners are recognized at the WWA Show each year. Click the green button to learn more about this program.

   Wave Review Award    

Chris Stuart Emerging Leaders Scholarship Program

The Chris Stuart Emerging Leaders Scholarship Program is meant to give individuals who are under 35 and have less than 5 years in the water leisure industry in a non-managerial position at a seasonal or year-round facility or are students enrolled in college the opportunity to attend the WWA Show at little to no cost to them. This scholarship is named in honor of Chris Stuart, a WWA Hall of Fame member who was known for his kindness and generosity in mentoring those who worked for him and were coming up in the industry. Stuart’s prolific career included time at parks and companies located throughout the world, as well as service as a member of the WWA’s Board of Directors and a recipient of multiple Board Awards. One full scholarship will be awarded in 2024. Click the green button to learn more about this program.

Chris Stuart Scholarship